Joy Approved: 5 Pink Blushes You Should Know About

This post is dedicated to my friend Marsha – it’s a few months late but I’ve been thinking about this topic for some time. I’ll also be posting my favourite peach blushes, bronzers, and highlighters in the near future so stay tuned!

I love me a good pink blush. A pink flush is girly and youthful. Pink cheeks has been the colour of choice for my most recent brides. Read up on which pink blushes I reach for often from my kit!

Picture

CARGO Catalina Blush ($26 CAD): If you’re looking for a versatile blush that suits all skin tones, Catalina is THE blush! This blush has been on my want list ever since I worked backstage for The Shopping Channel featuring Catalina. The fabulously talented makeup artist, Arabella, who I got to work with at the Junos, reconfirmed this was a must-have blush especially for bridal makeup. It just gives the most perfect “blushing” bride look. The shade in the pot looks like a soft pink, but on different skin tones I find it deepens and adjusts to whoever is wearing it. It doesn’t have a shimmer, but leaves a beautiful glow on the skin. It photographs fantastically as well. These blushes are a good size so this will last you a while.Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Blush in #4 & #5 ($25 USD): These cream blushes offer a healthy dose of colour that imparts a soft glow and is long-lasting. For drier skin tones, I will apply this on its own after the foundation but before the powder. To really make blush long-lasting and to enhance a powder blush, I like layering this underneath a powder blush. Two of my favourite shades from the line are #4 (Walk of Shame) and #5 (Nip Slip). Walk of Shame is a bubblegum pink that looks wonderful on fairer skin tones and is the perfect shade for a baby doll flush.Nip Slip is a neutral pink that works on most skin tones. It has warmer undertones while Walk of Shame has cooler undertones. Word of Caution: A little goes a long way so gently pump the bottle and dab onto cheeks until you get the desired shade.tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Amused ($25 USD): Believe all the hype!tarte’s newest blushes on the block have become hands down one of my favourite blushes. Gorgeous colours, highly pigmented, long-lasting, and all-natural! These blushes are infused with natural clay harvested from the banks of the Amazon River and naturally baked by the sun making it long-lasting up to 12 hours. And can you believe it works for every skin type? For my oily beauties, it minimizes oil in and around the pores. For drier types like moi, it has nourishing and hydrating properties that naturally restore skin’s moisture. And for combination skin, it hydrates and minimizes where your skin needs it. Amused is a bright pink and requires a very light hand otherwise it may appear too heavy especially on fairer skin. This is the type of shade that makes the cheeks the focus of the look while the eyes and lips are kept soft. This is also a great blush for medium-dark to deeper skin tones. If you haven’t already picked up one, this should definitely be on your radar! It’s worth the hefty price. Next on my list: Dollface, Blissful, and Tipsy!

NARS Mata Hari Blush ($27 USD): What’s not to love about NARS? You’ll find a good selection of must-have NARS’ blushes in my kit. Don’t be fooled by the picture – it’s actually a lot deeper in the pan. It’s described as a rose petal pink, but it looks more like a raspberry pink. It works for all skin tones light to deep. For fairer skin, I just dab a bit onto the cheeks, but this gives the perfect pop of colour on deeper skin tones. Darker skin tones can wear more vibrant shades and it will still appear like a natural flush of colour on the face.

And there you have it! I hope you enjoyed reading up on my favourite must-have pink blushes! What are your go-to pink blushes for the perfect girly glow?

Products were sent for editorial consideration (with the exception of NARS Mata Hari) and I truly love them!

Leave a Reply

