Makeup 101: My Bride Gets The Royal Treatment

Picture

The Duchess of Cambridge looked absolutely glowing don’t you think? While I didn’t wake up bright ‘n early to watch this historical fairy tale of a royal ceremony, I did PVR it just so I could see the hair, the makeup, and of course her stunning wedding gown designed by Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen.

Word has it that although Kate did her makeup herself for the big day, she did receive lessons from makeup artist, Arabella Preston. If you’re not going to hire a makeup artist, I definitely recommend getting lessons from a trained professional (me!). Her look fit for a princess or your average commoner, was completely true to her style. She was a “blushing bride” in every sense of the word. Kate’s blushing pink cheeks and matching lips complimented her subtle smokey eyes. Her skin was absolutely flawless! Kudos Kate! The only thing I would have changed slightly was to go a little softer on the bottom lash line. The black liner, while from far away defined her eyes, up close looked a little harsh. Otherwise, she was princess perfection!

I’m thrilled that one of my brides, who has similar features to Kate, is getting married tomorrow! Prior to the royal wedding, we talked about doing a blushing bride look so I was pleasantly surprised that Kate was wearing the same look today!I will be giving my bride the royal treatment! Here is a face chart I made and a list of all the essentials: 

Picture

I haven’t done a full face chart in years! It was actually very calming and helped get my creative juices flowing. It’s not perfect – I messed up the lashes a bit – but you can see where my vision is going. Rather than going with charcoals on the eyes like Kate did, I think soft pinks and chocolate browns will look gorgeous against my bride’s skin tone.

The Essentials:
Face:
MUFE HD Primer
Face Atelier Ultra Foundation
Kett Setting Powder
CARGO blu_ray HD Bronzer

Cheeks:
NARS Mata Hari (matte deep pink for contour)
CARGO Catalina Blush on the apples (the perfect pink “blushing” shade)
CARGO blu_ray HD Pink Blush/Highlighter (to enhance her glow)

Eyes:
UD Eye Primer Potion
M.A.C. White Frost eye shadow (highlight on brows and inner corner of eyes)
Lancome LE Pink ‘n Punked Quad (light pink as the base)
M.A.C. LE Diana Ross Quad (Thunder, rose pink lid, outer crease and bottom lash line)
Sephora Water-Proof Gel Liner in Brown (line the eyes and base for outer crease)
NARS Coconut Grove Eye Shadow (dark chocolate brown in the outer crease and outer lower lash line)
L’Oreal Voluminous Waterproof Mascara in Black
Ardell Lashes to really bring out the eyes

Lips:
Sephora Nude Lip Liner
NARS Catfight Semi-Matte Lipstick (mauvy-pink lipstick)
Chanel Glossimer in Mica

What do you think of my bride’s look? How do you think Kate did with her DIY bridal look? 

UPDATE: Check out celebrity artist, Andrea Claire’s, insightful yet comical rundown on the hats and Kate’s look: http://andreaclaire.onsugar.com/Philip-Treacy-Show-AKA-Royal-Wedding-16132004

Leave a Reply

